Favorite SciFi/Fantasy Authors – handout

Favorite SciFi/Fantasy Authors

Isaac Asimov

Science Fiction Novels

Pebble in the Sky (Doubleday 1950)

The Stars, Like Dust (Doubleday 1951)

Foundation (Gnome Press 1951)

David Starr, Space Ranger (Doubleday 1952)

Foundation and Empire (Gnome Press 1952)

The Currents of Space (Doubleday 1952)

Second Foundation (Gnome Press 1953)

Lucky Starr and the Pirates of the Asteroids (Doubleday 1953)

The Caves of Steel (Doubleday 1954)

Lucky Starr and the Oceans of Venus (Doubleday 1954)

The End of Eternity (Doubleday 1955)

Lucky Starr and the Big Sun of Mercury (Doubleday 1956)

The Naked Sun (Doubleday 1957)

Lucky Starr and the Moons of Jupiter (Doubleday 1957)

Lucky Starr and the Rings of Saturn (Doubleday 1958)

Fantastic Voyage (Houghton Mifflin 1966)

The Gods Themselves (Doubleday 1972)

Foundation’s Edge (Doubleday 1982)

Norby, the Mixed-up Robot (Walker 1983)

The Robots of Dawn (Doubleday 1983)

Norby’s Other Secret (Walker 1984)

Norby and the Lost Princess (Walker 1985)

Robots and Empire (Doubleday 1985)

Norby and the Invaders (Walker 1985)

Foundation and Earth (Doubleday 1986)

Norby and the Queen’s Necklace (Walker 1986)

Norby Finds a Villain (Walker 1987)

Fantastic Voyage II: Destination Brain (Doubleday 1987)

Prelude to Foundation (Doubleday 1988)

Norby Down to Earth (Walker 1988)

Nemesis (Doubleday 1989)

Norby and Yobo’s Great Adventure (Walker 1989)

Norby and the Oldest Dragon (Walker 1990)

Nightfall (Doubleday 1990)

The Ugly Little Boy (Doubleday 1992)

Norby and the Court Jester (Walker 1991)

Forward the Foundation (Doubleday 1993)

The Positronic Man (Doubleday 1993)


Mystery Novels – 2

SciFi Short Stories & Short Story Collections

I, Robot (Gnome Press 1950)

The Martian Way and Other Stories (Doubleday 1955)

Earth Is Room Enough: Science Fiction Tales of Our Own Planet (Doubleday 1957)

Nine Tomorrows: Tales of the Near Future (Doubleday 1959)

The Rest of the Robots (Doubleday 1964)

Through a Glass, Clearly (New English Library 1967)

Asimov’s Mysteries (Doubleday 1968)

Nightfall and Other Stories (Doubleday 1969)

The Best New Thing (World Pub. Co. 1971)

The Early Asimov or, Eleven Years of Trying (Doubleday 1972)

The Best of Isaac Asimov (Sphere 1973)

Have You Seen These? (NESRAA 1974)

Buy Jupiter and Other Stories (Doubleday ‘75)

The Heavenly Host (Walker 1975)

“The Dream”, “Benjamin’s Dream” and “Benjamin’s Bicentennial Blast” (Benjamin Franklin Keepsakes 1976)

Good Taste (Apocalypse Press 1976)

The Bicentennial Man and Other Stories (Doubleday 1976)

Three by Asimov (Targ 1981)

The Complete Robot (Doubleday 1982)

The Winds of Change and Other Stories (Doubleday 1983)

The Edge of Tomorrow (Tor/Tom Doherty Associates 1985)

It’s Such a Beautiful Day (Creative Education 1985)

The Alternate Asimovs (Doubleday 1986)

Science Fiction by Asimov (Davis Publications 1986)

The Best Science Fiction of Isaac Asimov (Doubleday 1986)

Robot Dreams (Byron Preiss 1986)

Other Worlds of Isaac Asimov (Avenel 1987)

All the Troubles of the World (Creative Education 1989)

Franchise (Creative Education 1989)

Robbie (Creative Education 1989)

Sally (Creative Education 1989)

The Asimov Chronicles: Fifty Years of Isaac Asimov (Dark Harvest 1989)

Robot Visions (Byron Preiss 1990)

The Complete Stories Volume 1 (Doubleday 1990)

Cal (short written exclusively for Isaac Asimov Collection subscribers – Not for sale 1991)

The Complete Stories Volume 2 (Doubleday 1992)

Gold (HarperPrism 1995)

Magic (HarperPrism 1996)

Fantasy Short Story Collection

Azazel (Doubleday 1988)


Robert A. Heinlein

For Us, The Living, 1938

Rocket Ship Galileo, 1947

Beyond This Horizon, 1948

Space Cadet, 1948

Red Planet, 1949

Sixth Column, 1949

Farmer in the Sky, 1950

Between Planets, 1951

The Puppet Masters, 1951

Starman Jones, 1953

The Star Beast, 1954

Tunnel in the Sky, 1955

Double Star, 1956

Time for the Stars, 1956

Citizen of the Galaxy, 1957

The Door into Summer, 1957

Have Space Suit—Will Travel, 1958

Methuselah’s Children, 1958

Starship Troopers, 1959

Stranger in a Strange Land, 1961

Podkayne of Mars, 1963

Glory Road, 1963

Farnham’s Freehold, 1964

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress, 1966

I Will Fear No Evil, 1970

Time Enough for Love, 1973

The Number of the Beast, 1980

Friday, 1982

Job: A Comedy of Justice, 1984

The Cat Who Walks Through Walls, 1985

To Sail Beyond the Sunset, 1987

Variable Star, 2006 (fleshed out by Spider Robinson)

The Pursuit of the Pankera, 2020


L E Modesitt, Jr


Recluse Series

The Magic of Recluce

The Towers of the Sunset

The Magic Engineer

The Order War

The Death of Chaos

Fall of Angels

The Chaos Balance

The White Order

Colors of Chaos

Magi’i of Cyador

Scion of Cyador

Wellspring of Chaos


Natural Ordermage

Mage-Guard of Hamor


Cyador’s Heirs

Fairhaven Rising

Heritage of Cyador

Outcasts of Order

Recluce Tales

The Mage-Fire War

The Mongrel Mage


Imagers Series


Imager’s Challenge

Imager’s Intrigue



Imager’s Battalion

Antiagon Fire

Rex Regis

Madness in Solidar

Treachery’s Tools

Assassin’s Price