Links and Resources for Writing Crime Fiction

Links and Resources for Writing Crime Fiction

Associations

American Crime Writers League: http://www.acwl.org/

Crime Readers’ Association: http://thecwa.co.uk/

International Association of Crime Writers North American Branch: http://www.crimewritersna.org/index.htm

Mystery Writers of America: http://mysterywriters.org/

The Crime Writers’ Association: http://thecwa.co.uk/

The Private Eye Writers of America: http://www.privateeyewriters.com/

 

Courses

Creative Crime Writing Courses: http://www.crimeandpublishment.co.uk/

Crime fiction academy: http://www.centerforfiction.org/forwriters/crimefiction/

Crime Writing Basics: https://www.profwritingacademy.com/shop/product/top-courses/writing-crime-fiction-course/

Cyber Crime Investigation: http://www.fvtc.edu/courses/public-safety/law-enforcement/20-504-21/cyber-crime-investigation

The essentials of writing crime fiction: http://www.theguardian.com/guardian-masterclasses/writing-crime-fiction

Thriller School: http://thriller-school.com/

Write Crime Fiction.com: http://writecrimefiction.com/

 

Conferences

2016 Writers’ Police Academy: http://www.writerspoliceacademy.com/

Bloody Scotland: https://www.bloodyscotland.com/

Crime Fest – The International Crime Fiction Convention (Bristol, UK): http://www.crimefest.com/

Crime Story (Northumbria, UK): http://www.crimestory.co.uk/

Crime Writing Festivals: https://www.profwritingacademy.com/crime-fiction-festivals/

 

Publishers of Crime Fiction

Directory of Fiction Publishers – Crime: (looks like mainly UK publishers) http://www.writewords.org.uk/directory/level2_pages.asp?subtypeid=134

 

How to Articles – Writing Crime Fiction

10 Tips on How to Write Believable Crime and Murder Scenes: http://www.livewritethrive.com/2015/03/02/10-tips-on-how-to-write-believable-crime-and-murder-scenes/

Crime Fiction: The Truth about Police Investigation with Joe Giacalone: http://www.thecreativepenn.com/2011/03/14/crime-fiction-joe-giacalone/

Crime Fiction: Tips and Pet Peeves: http://armchairinterviews.com/pages/crime-fiction-tips-and-pet-peeves

Greg Miller’s Guide to Lock Picking for Beginners: http://www.gregmiller.net/locks/

How to Write Crime Stories: http://www.wikihow.com/Write-Crime-Stories

Novel Writing Site: https://sites.google.com/site/novelwritingsite/secrets-of-writing-crime-fiction

Stories That Kill. 7 Tips for Writing Crime: http://www.thecreativepenn.com/2014/01/17/writing-crime/

Top 10 Rules for Mystery Writing: http://fictionwriting.about.com/od/genrefiction/tp/mysteryrules.htm

Writing crime fiction – 7 elements of gripping suspense: http://www.nownovel.com/blog/writing-crime-fiction/

 

Resources

Resources for Crime Writers – Books: http://crimefictioncollective.blogspot.com/2012/11/resources-for-crime-writers-books.html

Resources for Writers: http://www.addictivebooks.com/writers/writers_1.htm

Cyber Crimes Center: https://www.ice.gov/cyber-crimes

 

 

Helpful Links

Police Related:

Basic Stages for a Crime Scene Investigation – Possible Homicide: http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net/possiblehomicide.html

Cop Slang: http://www.policemag.com/cop-slang/

Crime Scene Equipment Checklist: http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net/crimesceneequipmentchecklist.html

Crime Scene Investigator Network: http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net/index.html

Glossary of Police Terms, Acronyms and Jargon: http://crime.about.com/od/glpolice/

How Crime Scene Investigation Works: http://science.howstuffworks.com/csi.htm

Officer.com: http://www.officer.com/

Police Lingo – Radio: http://www.scannerbuddy.com/policelingo.php

Police Scanner Codes: http://www.radiolabs.com/police-codes.html

 

Firearms:

Firearms Tutorial: http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/TUTORIAL/GUNS/GUNINTRO.html

 

Private Investigator:

Glossary of Investigation Terms: http://iiss.biz/glossaryOfTerms.php

Hard Boiled Slang Dictionary: http://classiccrimefiction.com/hardboiled-slang.htm

Private Detective Source: http://www.privatedetectivesource.com/

Private Investigator Training School: http://www.detectivetraining.com/

Pursuit Institute: http://beaprivateeye.com/

Tools of the Trade: http://www.privatedetectivesource.com/tools-of-the-trade/